Skip to content

Treatwell commission and fees, compared with Hopaby

Hopaby and Treatwell compared for salons, barbers and beauty businesses. Every Treatwell figure below links to the page it came from and shows the day we checked it; the oldest was checked on 29 October 2026. Hopaby charges no VAT.

The figures side by side

Hopaby and Treatwell compared, row by row
  Hopaby Treatwell
Monthly price £0 on pay as you go; £29 on Pro. Hopaby charges no VAT. Connect Advanced £24.99 a month; Connect Freelancer £9.99; Expert £59. + VAT checked 29 October 2026, source
Extra team members Three team members included, then £5 a month each on pay as you go. Unlimited team members on Pro. Unlimited team members on Connect Advanced and Expert. + VAT checked 29 October 2026, source
Card, in person 3% on pay as you go; 1.75% + 20p on Pro. 1.1% + 20p on a £199 card machine, or by Tap to Pay. + VAT checked 29 October 2026, source
Card, online 3% on pay as you go; 1.75% + 20p on Pro. 2.5% on online pre-payments. + VAT checked 29 October 2026, source
Deposits A deposit confirms the appointment. You choose the amount, per service if you like. Online pre-payments are offered. Amounts and rules are not stated on the page, checked 29 October 2026. checked 29 October 2026, source
No-show protection Save a client’s card when they book, and charge a no-show or late-cancellation fee under your own policy. Card fees as above. Custom cancellation policies and no-show charges are listed. Fee levels are not stated on the page, checked 29 October 2026. checked 29 October 2026, source
Texts 5p a part on pay as you go; 4p a part on Pro. Text confirmations and reminders are included on Connect. The price of other texts is not listed, checked 29 October 2026. checked 29 October 2026, source
Commission on new clients 0%. Hopaby has no client marketplace, so it sends you no new clients. 35% of a new client’s first marketplace booking, plus VAT. None on repeat clients or on bookings you take yourself. checked 29 October 2026, source
Contract Monthly. No minimum term. Cancel any time after the Expert trial. No minimum term is stated on the page. checked 29 October 2026, source
Taking your data with you Yes, by request. Not listed on Treatwell’s public pricing page, checked 29 October 2026. The page covers importing clients only. checked 29 October 2026, source

Hopaby charges no VAT. Treatwell prices are as published on the dates shown; ‘+ VAT’ means their price excludes VAT at 20%.

How we compared: we read Treatwell’s public pages, listed below, and recorded each figure with the plan it applies to. We left out introductory offers and trials. Where a page does not give a figure we say so rather than guess. Where prices differ by plan, the plan is named.

A worked month

A four-chair salon taking £6,000 a month by card across 120 bookings of £50 each. 30 of those bookings are from new clients, shown two ways below. Texts are left out on both sides. We assume one card payment per booking; a deposit plus a balance would be two payments and two per-transaction fees.

None of the 30 new clients came through Treatwell’s marketplace

Hopaby, pay as you go

£185.00

3% of £6,000.00 = £180.00 , plus 1 team member beyond the first three at £5 = £5.00. No monthly fee, no VAT.

Hopaby, Pro

£158.00

£29 + 1.75% of £6,000.00 (£105.00) + 120 × 20p (£24.00). No VAT.

Treatwell

£114.99

Ex VAT; £137.99 with 20% VAT.

The arithmetic for Treatwell: Connect Advanced: £24.99 for the whole team. In-person card rate: 1.1% of £6,000 = £66.00, plus 120 × 20p = £24.00, so £90.00. No commission. Total £114.99 ex VAT; £137.99 with 20% VAT (Treatwell lists its prices ex VAT, so we add VAT to the whole total).

All 30 new clients came through Treatwell’s marketplace

Hopaby, pay as you go

£185.00

3% of £6,000.00 = £180.00 , plus 1 team member beyond the first three at £5 = £5.00. No monthly fee, no VAT.

Hopaby, Pro

£158.00

£29 + 1.75% of £6,000.00 (£105.00) + 120 × 20p (£24.00). No VAT.

Treatwell

£639.99

Ex VAT; £767.99 with 20% VAT.

The arithmetic for Treatwell: Connect Advanced £24.99 and card rate £90.00 as above. New-client commission: 30 × 35% of £50 = 30 × £17.50 = £525.00. Total £639.99 ex VAT; £767.99 with 20% VAT (VAT added to the whole total, as above).

Assumption: one card payment per booking; a deposit plus a balance would be two payments and two per-transaction fees. Treatwell’s prices were taken from its public pages on 29 October 2026. Hopaby’s are on our pricing page. Hopaby has no client marketplace, so the new-client fees above are the ones a marketplace charges for clients it sends you.

What Treatwell does well

Moving from Treatwell to Hopaby

What moves

  • Your clients: names, mobile numbers and notes, by CSV or by typing them in.
  • Your services and prices.
  • Your team and their working days.
  • Future appointments, by CSV where Treatwell lets you export them, or re-entered by hand.

What stays behind

  • Stored card details: these do not move between payment providers, so clients save a card again with Hopaby.
  • Treatwell marketplace reviews stay on Treatwell; they do not travel with you.
  • Your Treatwell marketplace listing stays on Treatwell until you close it. Check its partner terms before you contact marketplace clients directly.

The steps

  1. Set up Hopaby alongside Treatwell: your services, prices and team.
  2. Import your client list. Export it from Treatwell as a CSV and send it to us, or type in your regulars.
  3. Run both for a fortnight. Take new bookings on Hopaby, finish the ones already in Treatwell, and send a card-save link to the clients you see most.
  4. When the diary on Treatwell is empty, close or downgrade your Treatwell account.

You do not have to switch in a day. Run both for a fortnight, and close Treatwell only when its diary is empty.

See how Hopaby works for hair salons , barbers and nail techs .

How much commission does Treatwell charge?

Treatwell’s partner pricing page says 35% of a new client’s first marketplace booking, plus VAT. Repeat clients, and bookings you take yourself through your website or Book Now buttons, carry no commission. Checked 29 October 2026.

How much does Treatwell cost per month?

Treatwell’s UK partner page lists Connect Freelancer at £9.99, Connect Advanced at £24.99 with unlimited team members, and Expert at £59, all ex VAT. Checked 29 October 2026.

What does Treatwell charge for card payments?

Its payments page lists 1.1% + 20p in person, on a £199 card machine or by Tap to Pay, and 2.5% online, ex VAT. Checked 29 October 2026.

Can I export my clients from Treatwell?

We could not find an export route on Treatwell’s public pricing or payments pages when we checked on 29 October 2026, so ask Treatwell’s support what it can provide before you plan a move.

Is there a Treatwell alternative with no commission?

Hopaby takes no commission on your clients and has no new-client fee; it charges a card fee of 3% on pay as you go, or 1.75% + 20p on Pro at £29 a month. Hopaby has no client marketplace, so new clients have to find you another way.

We will email you once when Hopaby is ready to download, and use your address for nothing else. Privacy notice.

No monthly fee for up to three people. 3% when you get paid. No commission on your clients, ever.

Treatwell is a trade mark of its owner. Hopaby is not affiliated with it.